Organic Chemistry Hod

M.Sc Organic Chemistry

HOD's Message

The Department of Organic Chemistry established in 2009 offers a 2 year M.Sc. Chemistry (Organic chemistry specialization) with an intake of 36 students. Analytical Chemistry specialization will be introduced from the academic year 2019-20 with an intake of 36 students. Admission into these courses is on the basis of Rank in Andhra University Common Entrance Test, AUCET.
The Department has two Professors and three assistant professors all are NET/SET qualified among them one is Ph.D. from CSIR-IICT with CSIR-JRF. The department focuses on both teaching and research in different areas of chemistry (Synthetic organic chemistry, natural products chemistry and study of reactions of metal complexes). The department is well equipped with state of the art research and library facility. The department encourages students to develop and enhance their scientific passion and publish their results.
The department also conducts national seminars, workshops and guest lecturers to give a focus on the emerging fields of research to our students.
The laboratories are well equipped with fume hood and efficient exhaust system. The best practice, the department can boast of, is collection of the water collected in AC units. Humidity in the air is condensed resulting in this water. This is equivalent to distilled water and is used directly in the laboratories. Each laboratory has a distilled storage facility of 600 litres. Final year students are given good training in thin layer and column chromatographic techniques which will be highly useful both for lucrative placements and research.

Profs. L.S.A. Dikshitulu and Prof. P.V. Subba Rao, renowned teachers and researchers of Chemistry of Andhra University were the founder Professors of this Department. Later Dr. M. Bapuji, Retd. Senior Scientist, CSIR-Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology (CSIR-IMMT), Bhubaneswar, with his expertise in Organic Chemistry assisted the Department in establishing Organic Chemistry Laboratory. Presently Prof. A. Nageswara Rao, Retd. Professor, Department of Physical & Nuclear Chemistry, AU and former Registrar of Adikavi Nannaya and Krishna Universities and Prof. (Mrs.) P. Uma Devi, Retd. Professor of Organic Chemistry, GITAM University are looking after the Department.